Losing wheat, rye, barley and oats from your diet can be quite a shock to your lifestyle and eating habits. When it happened to me, I quickly looked for the list of foods that I couldn’t eat because this made sense to me. I never thought of looking for the foods that I could eat. Below is a quick run down of all the foods you CAN STILL HAVE on a gluten free diet. Finally there is also a link to a very large list of  safe foods and ingredients in a PDF format so you can easily print it out and carry it with you.

Foods You Can Enjoy

Proteins

Fresh meats, poultry and fish, free of added ingredients
If you are getting it from the meat or fish counter, make sure they are kept away from other meats that may contain gluten ingredients like breading or seasonings. Because meat or fish with gluten ingredients could have been weight on the scale before your order, ask that they put parchment, wax or butchers paper on the scale before they weigh your proteins. One time a store was weighing my pork chops and I noticed that there were breading crumbs on the scale. I point it out and the butcher put down some paper and gave me “fresh” pork chops.

Select prepackaged and pre-cooked meats
It is easy to find lunchmeat, ham, sausage and bacon that are gluten free, and many manufacturers such as Hormel and Applegate label their products as gluten free. Always check the ingredients to be sure.

Eggs
Thankfully, fresh eggs are naturally gluten free.

Beans
All dried black, garbanzo, kindey, pinto, lima, fava, navy, and soybeans, adzuki, anasazi, and Great Northern beans are all gluten free. Canned and frozen beans are most likely gluten free but be sure to check the ingredients for added gluten.

gluten free milk and dairy productsMilk & Dairy
Plain milk, butter, yogurt and most cheeses are gluten free. Soy milk and related products, almond milk, soy butters and other vegan dairy products are also gluten free. For flavored yogurts, cheeses, spreads and other similar dairy products always make to check the ingredients just to be safe.

Not all ice cream is gluten free. Cookies and cream, brownie and other varieties usually contain gluten. Even some rice and soy ice creams can contain gluten. Check the ingredients for gluten and don’t forget to look for malt. I was lazy one day and did not read the ingredients on a pint of minty carob rice ice cream and unintentionally glutened myself because of the malt that was in it.

Grains

Yes, you saw that correctly, there are still grains you can eat. Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, nearly all rice varieties and quinoa are all safe grains. Some people have reported reactions to Quinoa but it is still on the safe list at this time.

Gluten Free Grains
There are many, many options for gluten free grains today. Gluten free breads made from corn, rice and other flours. Gluten free pastas are made from rice flour, both white and brown, as well as corn.

Oats
This is the controversial grain. Some say it is gluten free and some say no. Research seems to support that oats are safe, but some still have a reaction to them. To be safe, I eat only gluten free oats (Bob’s Red Mill and Udi’s Gluten Free Granola are two examples), and stay away oats that are not marked as gluten free. Even if oats are truly naturally gluten free, they can be contaminated in the production process.

Cereals
There are many options for gluten free cereals

Flours and Baked Goods
There are many, many gluten free flours that you can use your recipes: amaranth, arrowroot, beans, black gram, buckwheat, chickpea (besan), carob, corn (maize), garbanzo, garfava, lentil, millet, Montina, nut flours, potato flours and starches, quinoa, rice, sorghum, soy, sweet potato, sweet rice, tapioca (manioc), teff and yuc.

Gluten free cake, cookie and bread mixes, as well as frostings and other baking supplies are easy to find in most grocery stores as is all purpose gluten free flour.

Prepackeged gluten free baked goods such as cakes, cookies and muffins can usually be found in grocery stores and natural foods stores. They are many,  many to choose from. Only buy baked goods that are labeled gluten free.

Fruits and Vegetables

All fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten free. Most frozen fruits and vegetables are typically gluten free unless they have added seasonings or breading. Always check the ingredients on those.

Condiments and Sauces

Always check the ingredients for gluten when choosing sauces and condiments. Generally mayonnaise, ketchup and yellow mustard are gluten free. Pickles and olives are gluten free as well. Soy sauce, on the other hand usually is not. I use Tamari sauce as an alternative to soy sauce. Lea & Perrins Worsteshire sauce is gluten and labeled as such

New Planet gluten free beer

Packaged and Processed Foods

I generally do not eat much processed or packed foods but when I do I only eat them if they are clearly labeled gluten free OR the listed ingredients can easily be dertimed to be gluten free. Consult the Gluten Free Foods and Ingredients You Can Eat List to make sure the product is safe.

Beverages

Water, tea, coffee, 100% fruit juices, and most sodas are gluten free. Always check the ingredeints in flavored teas and non 100% fruit juices. There are many varieties of gluten free beer such as Redbridge, New Planet and New Grist. Wine, thankfully, is gluten free. Alcoholic beverages made with distilled alcolhol is gluten free such as vodka, cognac, rum, sherry, scotch whiskey, brandy, bourbon, Kahlua and many more. For mixes, make sure to check the ingredients.

Printable Gluten Free Safe List

The Victoria’s Gluten-Free Kitchen’s Printable Gluten Free Safe Foods List (PDF) taken from Celiac.com

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment